The Lilburn Trust is announcing five citation Awards in
recognition of the recipients’ outstanding services to New
Zealand music.

This year’s recipients are
saxophonist Deborah Rawson, music copyist and type-setter
Alistair Gilkison, radio producer David McCaw, music critic
and arts administrator Elizabeth Kerr, and record producer
Terence O’Neill-Joyce.

The Lilburn Trust citation is
an occasional award made at the discretion of the Trust’s
Music Advisory Committee. The award comprises a formal
citation, a certificate and a cash amount. This year the
cash amount is $10,000 per recipient.

“Given the
recent hiatus in awarding citations, and the sector
challenges of the last two years, we are very pleased to be
in a position to make this gesture,” says Committee
Chairperson, Chris Szekely.

“We take great pleasure
in congratulating the recipients and acknowledging their
longstanding contributions.”

Twenty-one citations
have been given by the Trust since it was first presented in
1990. More than just being for New Zealand composers, the
citation acknowledges work by individuals in making New
Zealand music heard. This includes, but not limited to,
promotion by means of commissioning, organising events and
performances, and recording.

The written citations and
certificates will be presented at a reception held at the
National Library in Wellington in February 2022, which will
follow the Lilburn Lecture this time being delivered by Ross
Harris. The date of the lecture and reception will align to
pandemic alert levels and is yet to be


Deborah Rawson

a long career as soloist, recording artist, chamber musician
and teacher, Deborah Rawson has always been
a strong advocate for New Zealand Music. She has performed
and commissioned a vast number of New Zealand compositions
for clarinet and saxophone and has been a founding member
and leader of multiple ensembles including the Zelanian
Ensemble and Saxcess. These groups have shown a sustained
commitment to New Zealand composition resulting in a
significant body of new composition for wind instruments by
New Zealand composers. As a soloist Deborah has been the
performer of choice for numerous works that have been
composed for her. Deborah’s sustained commitment to New
Zealand music has also been evident in her teaching and
educational activities which have consistently featured New
Zealand works.


Ever since graduating from Victoria
University with a BMus (Hons) in 1984, Alistair
has been preparing New Zealand
composers’ scores for publication. In the early years, his
calligraphy was remarkable for its clarity and elegance.
More recently, he has moved on to computer type-setting –
still with the same elegance and a layout that takes account
of performers’ needs. Alistair’s musical knowledge and
judgement is such that his role has extended beyond that of
simply type-setting. New Zealand composers have benefited
significantly from Alistair’s care and knowledge. He is
one of the unsung heroes of composition in Aotearoa. Many of
the scores prepared by Alistair have been published by
Wai-te-ata Music Press but some have appeared under other
imprints. Michael Norris, the current editor of Wai-te-ata
Music Press, describes Alistair’s work as exemplary.
Alistair has also made valuable contributions to the
bibliography of New Zealand sheet music.


In a broadcasting career starting in the early
1980s, David McCaw has produced for RNZ
Concert thousands of hours of studio and live concert
recordings featuring New Zealand’s leading composers and
performers. His dedication to showing New Zealand artists in
the best possible light has helped shape numerous musical
careers and has kept radio audiences entertained and
informed over many years. David’s recordings, particularly
of New Zealand compositions, have won several awards and
constitute a significant portion of the broadcasting
archives of music in New Zealand. His work can be heard
every day on RNZ Concert.


Elizabeth Kerr is a New
Zealand-based freelance music critic and commentator and has
worked in music and the arts for many years as a
broadcaster, writer, university lecturer and arts leader. In
all roles she has been a champion of the music of New
Zealand composers. After 13 years as a lecturer at Victoria
University’s School of Music she became involved in arts
management and governance. She has held management positions
at RNZ Concert, as Chief Executive of Creative NZ
(2000-2006), and Manager of the New Zealand String Quartet
(2007-2012). She has also held governance roles as a board
member for NZ Festival/Tawhiri Limited (of which she is the
current Chair), the NZSQ, NZSO, APO and Orchestra
Wellington. Initially involved with setting up SOUNZ, she
was Chair 2009-2019.

Elizabeth has always been an
advocate for gender equity in music performance and
composing, as well as making a stand for good causes such as
Save RNZ Concert. She currently writes the Classical Column
and CD reviews for the NZ Listener and hosts her own website
writing about music in New Zealand, Five


As founder of the independent
Ode record label, Terence O’Neill-Joyce
has produced, recorded, and promoted a diverse range of New
Zealand and Pacific music. Under Terence’s ownership, from
1968 to 1996 and 2001 to 2007, the label released an
estimated 600 recordings and has been notable for supporting
Polynesian musicians, Māori performers, popular music, and
jazz. Ode has also issued art music, including albums by
singers Mina Foley and Donald McIntyre, and electroacoustic
works by New Zealand composers. A special release was
Margaret Nielsen’s 1995 LP of Douglas Lilburn’s piano
music. A strong advocate for independent labels, from 1992
to 2005 Terence served as president of RIANZ (Recording
Industry Association of New Zealand). In 2019, he
established Recorded Music Fiji to improve representation of
Fijian producers in the industry. Terence has also recently
been involved with archiving the master tapes of Ode at the
Archive of New Zealand Music (part of the Alexander Turnbull
Library) and reissuing these


The Lilburn
: The late composer Douglas Lilburn helped
establish the Archive of New Zealand Music, which is part of
the Alexander Turnbull Library’s collections, in 1974. He
donated his own collection of scores, papers and recordings,
and served as an honorary curator. Lilburn also established
the Lilburn Trust in 1984. It is administered by the
Turnbull Endowment Trust.

The Lilburn Trust supports
many New Zealand music projects including the annual Lilburn
Lecture and the Lilburn Research Fellowship. The citation
Award has been presented since 1990. Previous recipients
have included composer and arts administrator Ashley Heenan,
Māori music composer and advocate Wiremu Kerekere,
researcher and author John Mansfield Thomson, conductors
Peter Godfrey, Karen Grylls, Kenneth Young and Hamish
McKeich, Taongo puoro specialist Richard Nunns, pianists
Michael Houstoun and Margaret Nielsen, and record producers
Anthony Vercoe and Wayne Laird.

Lilburn » Citations

to editors:

Alexander Turnbull Library is part of the
National Library of New Zealand. New Zealand’s national
documentary heritage collections, including both published
and unpublished items, are held in the Alexander Turnbull

Images of recipients

© Scoop Media


Source link

Lilburn Trust Citation Awards 2021

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *