The Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence seeks to recognize members of the University community who have made invaluable contributions to Syracuse University in two overarching ways—first through commitment to scholarship and research that contributes to new understandings of the world and creative responses to its needs; and second, through advancing the four pillars Chancellor Kent Syverud has identified to foster excellence at Syracuse University. Those four pillars of excellence are providing an outstanding undergraduate experience; empowering research excellence; fostering change and innovation; and positioning Syracuse as the best university in the world for veterans.

The deadline for nominations for the 2022-23 Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence is Friday, Dec. 9, at 5 p.m. Nomination requirements are available on the Chancellor’s Citation webpage. Completed nominations may be submitted via email to Faculty Affairs (, cc:

The four categories of awards are:

  • Faculty Excellence and Scholarly Distinction
  • Outstanding Contributions to the Student Experience and University Initiatives (faculty, administrative/professional staff and support staff award)
  • Award for Excellence in Student Research
  • Lifetime Achievement Award   

Recipients of the Chancellor’s Citations for Excellence will be honored at the One University Awards Ceremony held in April 2023. Past awardees can be found in the University Library Archives.

Members of the selection committee are:

  • Mary Grace Almandrez, vice president for diversity and inclusion, Office of Diversity and Inclusion;
  • Isabella Barzuna, graduate student, human dynamics and family studies, Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics;
  • Dympna Callaghan, University Professor and William L. Safire Professor of Modern Letters, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Diane Crawford, executive director of institutional culture, Whitman School of Management;
  • Soren Lowell, professor of communication sciences and disorders, College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Quinn Qiao, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science;
  • Carla Ramirez, assistant director, Mary Ann Shaw Center for Public and Community Service; and
  • Maria P. Russell, professor emerita of public relations, Newhouse School of Public Communications.                                                                                                                                                                                               


More Details:

Source link

Nominations Sought for Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *